A-Z List of Electronic Databases
Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
The purpose of the Acoustical Society of America is to generate, disseminate, and promote the knowledge and practical applications of acoustics. This database offers coverage of many areas of academic study of interest in acoustics including physics, engineering, architecture, noise, oceanography, biology, speech and hearing, psychology and music.
The American Chemical Society covers peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences, serving scientific communities worldwide through an unparalleled commitment to quality, reliability, and innovation.
This database offers access to numerous scientific journals and databases, convenes major research conferences and provides educational, science policy and career programs in chemistry. The collection is key in educating and communicating with public policy makers and the general public about the importance of chemistry in our lives. This includes identifying new solutions, improving public health, protecting the environment and contributing to the economy.
The American Institute of Physics is a federation that advances and operates as a centre of excellence supporting the physical sciences enterprise.
The collection provides the global physical sciences community with a comprehensive collection of highly cited peer reviewed scientific information. AIP Publishing’s portfolio includes titles such as Applied Physics Letters, Journal of Applied Physics and The Journal of Chemical Physics, and the AIP Conference Proceedings series. AIP Publishing’s goals and core activities include: advancing the physical sciences as publisher of leading research journals and conference proceedings; and, advancing the AIP Member Societies by providing efficient publishing services and systems for essential society functions.
This database works in a way of advancing and diffusing the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy, and outstanding research output.
The mission of APS is to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics for the benefit of humanity, promote physics, and serve the broader physics community.
The ASCE Library is the world’s largest full-text database of civil engineering research and practical publications. It offers unprecedented online access to more than 145,000 technical and professional papers—1.5 million pages of content. More than 7,000 papers are added annually. ASCE focuses on providing unprecedented access to 33 Peer-reviewed journals with more than 60,000 full-text papers and a 31-Year archive from 1983 to the present.
The database covers publications of various types in print and/or electronic forms: journals and practice periodicals, conference proceedings, standards, manuals and reports on engineering practice, committee technical reports, ASCE Press, Bridges wall calendar, engineer, owner, and construction-related contract documents, and special publications.
The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspectsof radiology, radiation oncology, medical physics and the underpinning sciences.
This database provides Access to British Journal of Radiology (BJR) and Dent maxillofacial Radiology (DMFR). Global Health is a bibliographical abstract and indexing database specialising in public health, human nutrition, parasitic, communicable and tropical diseases and medicinal plants. It provides access to abstracts of the world's research literature from 1973 to present with coverage of English and foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, developing country information and other difficult to obtain literature.
This database contains comprehensive Full text of over 323 Cambridge University Press Online Journals.
Global in scope, coverage includes agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, plant sciences, mycology and parasitology, food science, human health and nutrition. The Cambridge University Press Abstracts offers extensive coverage of journal and no journal literature from around the world including annual reports, general reports, books, conference proceedings, field notes and more.
This database has a Full text of 17 online peer-reviewed journals in a broad range of scientific disciplines with back files dating back to 1996 in most cases.
Delivers comprehensive authoritative information that accelerates research and innovation, and features content from a broad range of disciplines. It offers a coverage of many areas of academic study including physiology, metabolism, nutrition, arctic science, biochemistry and cell behaviour, botany, animal sciences, chemistry engineering and others.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of online searchable databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane Reviews, The Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information, from other systematic reviews abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials all the current evidence in one single environment
A collection of databases that identify articles on general topics, business, health, education, and more. Users have access to three databases: eBooks (Formerly Net Library books), Business Sources Premier and Eric.
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC), provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
ERIC is a Web-based digital library of free education-related sources of interest to educators, researchers, and the general public, and consists primarily of electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literature. The collection is to be expanded to include full-texts of articles and other electronic resources such as audio and video materials.
Edinburgh University Press is one of the leading university presses in the UK. It publishes books and journals across a range of subject areas in the humanities and social sciences. publications carry the imprimatur of one of Britain's oldest and most distinguished centres of learning and enjoy the highest academic standards through the scholarly appraisal of our Press Committee.The database covers journals with a range of disciplines in the humanities and social sciences.
The journals within the coverage of this database are all peer-reviewed and fully searchable full text.
social science research that tackles key societal challenges aligned with the UN SDGs is covered within the scope of the database.
Launched in 2007 to celebrate 200 years of the Geological Society of London, the Lyell Collection is an online collection comprising the Society’s journal titles, Special Publications and key book series - plus journals published on behalf of other societies. Cutting edge science sits alongside important historical material, all captured and presented to the highest electronic standards and benefiting from the extensive functionality of HighWire Press’ platform.
The Lyell Collection is an electronic resource containing new and archival journal, Special Publication and book content, published by the Geological Society of London. It contains key peer-reviewed Earth science literature of the highest quality.
The database represents one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth Science literature available. Bringing together key journals, Special Publications and Society book series on a single site, the Lyell Collection is a unique resource for researcher and student alike.
HST provides access to world class lectures by leading authorities from around the globe, in one online resource - wherever, whenever and as often as is wanted. The collection is an ideal resource to embed within Biomedical & life sciences and business & Management.
Specially prepared, online, animated, audio-visual lectures by world leading authorities on library developments in a digital environment for researchers and university faculty members.
The IMF is viewed as one of the world’s most authoritative sources for economic information, analysis and harmonized statistics. IMF eLibrary provides comprehensive data and original analysis, with coverage of almost every economy in the world and a special focus on developing and emerging economies.
IOP Publishing’s portfolio includes more than 90 journals, around half of which are published jointly with or on behalf of partner societies and research organisations.
The database rreflects the growth of scientific research and application in core scientific fields, while recognising the increasingly interdisciplinary nature of scientific research. With a coverage of over 60 of the world's most prestigious journals in physics and related sciences.
JSTOR is a digital library for the intellectually curious and provides a platform for discovering and connecting research, images, and primary sources. As a not-for-profit, it partners with libraries, museums, and publishers to reduce costs, extend access, and preserve scholarship for the future. JSTOR was conceived in 1994 by William G. Bowen, then-president to help university and college libraries provide adequate space for an ever-increasing amount of published scholarship.
It is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
It is a growing digital library of more than 2,000 academic journals, 20,000 books, and 2 million primary source objects.JSTOR helps students, scholars, and other individuals discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform.
KU is an open-access website of scholarly content. Its online visibility stages an opportunity to different libraries and institutions worldwide to have access and support open access plus different publishers, it's the main course is to " focus on sustainable models to support you in moving from paywall to a world of OA." It provides content up to about 3000 in all knowledge aspects like nature, Art, Business, Economics, Computers, Designs, Education, Drama, Fiction among others that can be freely accessed and downloaded. This website is supported by a number of libraries Worldwide and over fifty (50) publishers. KU also guides you on the simplest means to pay and manage your access publication charges (APCs) through 'Oable' ( Operation A.B.L.E), It is an open access management tool that helps libraries manage their open access transactions, it helps to approve OA requests in collaboration with different publishers. To ensure knowledge is unlatched, the website provides a platform of support for whichever institution or individual is willing to pledge or pay the APC.
Liverpool University press Produces approximately 75 books a year and 25 journals, specialising in literature, modern languages, history and visual culture. The journal collection highlights the breadth and scope of journals that complement each other in history, literature, language, culture studies, religious studies and planning.
Founded in 1980. Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. is universally acknowledged for establishing authoritative peer-reviewed journals in the most promising areas of biotechnology, biomedical research/life sciences, clinical medicine and surgery, and law.
Peer reviewed journals, books and trade publications in cutting edge fields such as biotechnology, biomedical research, medicine and surgery, public health research and policy, technology and engineering, law, environmental research and policy and other specialized disciplines.
The database covers 90 peer-reviewed journals, leading trade magazines, and specialized newsletters.
Nature Publishing Group (NPG) is a publisher of high impact scientific and medical information in print and online. NPG publishes journals, online databases and services across the life, physical, chemical and applied sciences and clinical medicine.
Nature Research (formerly known as Nature Publishing Group is a division of the international scientific publishing company Springer Nature that publishes academic journals, magazines, online databases, and services in science and medicine. It also publishes the Nature-titled research journals, Nature Reviews journals (since 2000), society-owned academic journals, and a range of open access journals, including Scientific Reports and Nature Communications. Nature Publishing Group's owner, Holtzbrinck Publishing Group, bought a controlling stake in Frontiers.
Oxford covers journals from science, technical, professional, medical, humanities, arts and social science disciplines. The academic publishing programme serves scholars, teachers and researchers, publishing important and rigorous research and scholarship across subject areas stretching from History to Life Sciences to Economics. The publications are translated into over 40 languages and the Developing Countries Initiative ensures that scholars at institutions in less prosperous areas of the world are able to access content in an affordable way.
The Academic Division of OUP comprises of journals publishing, research and reference publishing, Higher Education, and academic dictionaries.
Palgrave Macmillan offers a combined portfolio of over 70 peer-reviewed e-journals.
Palgrave Macmillan is a global cross- market publisher specializing in quality trade non- fiction and cutting-edge academic books. It publishes general interest books as well as textbooks, journals, monographs, professional and reference works in pint and online. Over 5000 active articles are presented in subjects ranging from political science, economics and History to literature, linguistics and business.
Palgrave Macmillan is best known for publishing in the humanities, social sciences, and business. It publishes for a global audience, focusing on the needs of researchers, lecturers and students.
The Policy Press publishes four highly prestigious journals in the fields of public and social policy. Policy Press is a leading specialist social science publisher committed to journals that will have an impact on research, learning, policy and practice at an international level.
The publications provide the latest policy research in accessible formats, reaching those who formulate or implement policy at executive and grass-roots levels - as well as academics and students.
Spanning several disciplines, including sociology, social policy, childhood and family studies, social work, criminology, public health, and urban policy, Policy Press publishes a variety of products, including textbooks, academic journals, and monographs.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community around the world. For 25 years, Project MUSE has been the trusted and reliable source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading universities and scholarly societies. Currently, Project MUSE has over 700 journals from 125 publishers and offers nearly 70,000 books from more than 140 presses.
Project Muse’s mission is to promote the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide.
The RCP is an independent publisher of two high-quality peer-reviewed clinical journals, Clinical Medicine and Future Healthcare Journal.
Clinical Medicine journal is read by leading physicians in hospitals across the world. It features articles covering original research, current issues, ethics, law, clinical governance and audit, and also reports on prestigious College lectures and conferences.
The Royal Society is a self-governing Fellowship of many of the world's most distinguished scientists drawn from all areas of science, engineering and medicine, and is the oldest scientific academy in continuous existence.
The database collection contains ten leading international journals from the Royal Society, the UK's national academy of science. Titles cover the whole of the biological and physical sciences, and include Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, the world's first science journal.
The coverage of Royal Society for Chemistry focuses exclusively on the core chemical sciences including related fields such as biology, biophysics, energy and environment, engineering, materials, medicine and physics.
RSC is a premier source regarding all branches of chemistry, plus a range of key databases in analytical chemistry, catalysts and catalysed reactions, organic synthesis and natural products plus its online series of specialist periodical reports, and a range of key databases.
Sage contains Over 550 journals in the business, humanities, social sciences and science, technology and medicine (STM).
Driven by the belief that social and behavioural science has the power to improve society, sage focuses on publishing impactful research and enabling robust research methodology. It produces high quality educational resources that support instructors to prepare the citizens, policy makers, educators and researchers of the future. Sage publishes more than 1,000 journals and 900 new books globally each year, as well as library products and services that include archives, data, case studies and video.
SpringerLink is the world's most comprehensive online collection of scientific, technological and medical journals, books and reference works.
Springer’s coverage includes e-Journals that investigate a wide range of science-based subjects including biomedicine and the life sciences, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer sciences, human sciences, social sciences and economics.
This database provides researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.
This browsable and searchable database provides access to more than 1,300 titles in humanities, social sciences and applied sciences. Taylor and Francis covers a wide range of areas in different disciplines such as medicine and health, humanities and social sciences, science and technology as well as engineering.
A comprehensive database providing scholarly journals, many on behalf of some of the world's most prestigious societies, and several that were the first scholarly publications in their respective fields. The journals present original research in the social sciences, humanities, education, and biological and physical sciences.
In addition to publishing the results of research for communities of scholars, the Press presents innovative scholarship in ways that inform and engage general readers. The press develops reference works and educational texts that draw upon and support the emphases of scholarly programs and that extend the intellectual reach of the Press. Significant non-scholarly work by writers, artists, and intellectuals from within and beyond the academy; translations of important foreign-language texts, both historical and contemporary; and books that contribute to the public's understanding of Chicago and its region are published. In all of this, the Press is guided by the judgment of individual editors who work to build a broad but coherent publishing program engaged with authors and readers around the world.
Wiley Online Library is a leading international resource for scholarly content providing access to millions of articles across a wide range of journals. This package provides access to over 500 journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
The database provides access to books, journals, and encyclopedias, in print and electronically, as well as online products and services, training materials, and educational materials for undergraduate, graduate, and continuing education students
The titles within the coverage of Wiley online library include the full spectrum of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities.
UpToDate is a clinical decision support database that covers over 25 medical specialists and is authored by 7300 world renowned physicians. It contains the latest medical information and has been found to impact 300,000 medical decisions globally every day. Visit www.uptodate.com/online to access UpToDate online. To access full content, make sure to log on using the University`s internet access points at the Faculty of Health Sciences, Mbale Campus or Mbale Regional Referral Hospital. Once on the site, click REGISTER to create an account for subsequent logins. UpToDate also gives you an offline version on your phone or tablet through the MobileComplete. Simply download the UpToDate Mobile App from Google Play, Amazon and Apple App store. This will enable you choose and download content that you can access while away from the campus.
Visual Capitalist is a multisubject media site that makes a complex world easier to understand through the power of visual content. The site publishes enriched visual content covering the most pressing issues globally. Through the power of visual technology, the database provides analyses and reports on topics like markets, technology, money, healthcare, energy, mining, climate change and green technologies, and features some of the world's premier companies and personalities. You can use this information to enrich your research proposal and reports. For example, did you know that Uganda is among the top 10 coffee producing countries worldwide? The countries that use the highest percentage of Green energy; Where are the world's ongoing conflicts today; The biggest ponzi schemes in modern history; The history of the world's deadliest pandemics, is COVID-19 the worst; The countries with the most nuclear weapons; How much NATO countries spend on defense, how about Uganda.